Sometimes You Just Need Simple

It has been a busy couple weekends as I have traveled to Pennsylvania to assist in preparing and moving my mother to a new apartment. Though I was only there for 1 day each weekend, it was 6 hours of hard labor with 4 hours of travel time. Sundays at home were full of completing things that needed to be done before the beginning of the work week – yard work, laundry, errands and preparing my lunches for the week. Sometime you just need something simple.

I love soup, but especially with the change from summer to fall. Last week I had planned to make a large pot of Italian wedding soup to enjoy throughout the week, but I ran out of time in the weekend to make it. So it was a week full of hodge podge thrown together lunches. Not healthy, not satisfying. This week I was determined, but my time was still limited as was my energy to stand in a kitchen for hours.

Luckily this week I gave into short cuts!! Simplified with shortcuts does not have to mean less healthy. I choose pre-package fresh ingredients such as baby carrots, boxed chicken broth, frozen meatballs and bagged spinach. Some days you just need simple. The right tools also help! My food processor and Instant Pot saved me hours. I was only in the kitchen for 30 minutes!! The soup tasted like it was simmering for hours. It was so simple and I did not even need any added seasonings.

Click here for Simple Instant Pot Italian Wedding Soup Recipe.

Leave a comment